Skip to main content

Core Faculty

Jump to Last Name:

Karen Alter

Karen Alter

Lady Board of Managers of the Colombian Exposition Professor of Political Science and Law

Program Area(s): International Organizations and International Law
Phone number: 847-491-4842
Office location: Scott Hall 318
kalter@northwestern.edu

Traci Burch

Traci Burch

Associate Professor

Program Area(s): Public Opinion, Political Communication, and Political Participation
Phone number: 847-491-4848
Office location: Scott Hall 210
t-burch@northwestern.edu

Edward L. Gibson

Edward L. Gibson

Professor and Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences

Program Area(s): Comparative Historical Analysis
Phone number: 847-491-2629
Office location: 1918 Sheridan Rd.
egibson@northwestern.edu

Elizabeth Shakman Hurd

Elizabeth Shakman Hurd

Professor and Crown Chair in Middle East Studies, Professor of Religious Studies (by courtesy)

Program Area(s): Law and Politics
Phone number: 847-467-5412
Office location: Scott Hall 209
eshurd@northwestern.edu

Ian Hurd

Ian Hurd

Professor

Program Area(s): International Organizations and International Law
Phone number: 847-491-4847
Office location: Scott Hall 306
ianhurd@northwestern.edu

James Mahoney

James Mahoney

Gordon Fulcher Professor of Decision-Making; Professor of Political Science and Sociology

Program Area(s): Latin American Politcics
Phone number: 847-491-2626
Office location: Scott Hall 402
JAMES-MAHONEY@NORTHWESTERN.EDU

Wendy Pearlman

Wendy Pearlman

Charles Deering McCormick Professor of Teaching Excellence; Director of Undergraduate Studies

Program Area(s): Conflict Studies
Phone number: 847-491-2259
Office location: Scott Hall 204
pearlman@northwestern.edu

William Reno

William Reno

Professor & Chair of the Department

Program Area(s): Conflict Studies
Phone number: 847-491-5794
Office location: Scott Hall 243 (Chair's Office); 106
reno@northwestern.edu

Hendrik Spruyt

Hendrik Spruyt

Norman Dwight Harris Professor of International Relations

Program Area(s): Comparative Historical Analysis
Phone number: 847-491-2648
Office location: Scott Hall 316
h-spruyt@northwestern.edu

Jacqueline Stevens

Jacqueline Stevens

Professor; Founding Director, Deportation Research Clinic, Buffett Institute for Global Affairs

Program Area(s): Critical Theory
Phone number: 847-467-2093
Office location: Scott Hall 22 (primary); Scott Hall 09 (secondary)
jacqueline-stevens@northwestern.edu

Chloe Thurston

Chloe Thurston

Assistant Professor of Political Science; Faculty Fellow, Institute for Policy Research

Program Area(s): Comparative Historical Analysis
Phone number: 847-467-4067
Office location: Scott Hall 206
thurston@northwestern.edu

Jeffrey A. Winters

Jeffrey A. Winters

Professor and Director of the Equality Development and Globalization Studies program (EDGS)

Program Area(s): Comparative Historical Analysis
Phone number: 847-491-2630
Office location: Scott Hall 403
winters@northwestern.edu

Back to top